Roasted Beet Hummus

Beets, they taste like dirt. Or at least that’s how I always felt about them. Maybe I was wrong or maybe my tastes buds have changed, but this hummus does not taste like dirt.

I first tried beet hummus in a restaurant with a friend. We almost didn’t order it, because she knew how I felt about beets. I’m glad we did, because it was delicious. I had to make my own. My husband eyed it suspiciously, “What is that and why is it that colour?” “Shut up and try it!” I told him.  By the next evening the whole batch was gone.beethummus2

The sweetness of the roasted beets give this hummus a deep rich sweetness, cut nicely by the tang of lemon. Roasting the garlic mellows out the flavour. But the real show stopper is the colour. Fuchsia pink. This dip will definitely be the crowning jewel in your next veggie tray!

Roasted Beet Hummus

This recipe makes about 4 cups of hummus and can be stored in the refrigerator for up to 1 week.

Ingredients:

300 g (About 4 small) Beets
1 cup Dry Chickpeas
1/2 bulb Garlic
6 tbsp Lemon Juice
2 tbsp Tahini
2 ½ tbsp Olive Oil
2 tsp Salt
¾ cups Water

Directions:

  • Preheat the oven to 4000F
  • Peel and cube the beets.beetroot4
  • Peel garlic.
  • Toss the beets and garlic with ½ tbsp. of olive oil and roast in the oven for about 25 minutes. Until beets are tender.
  • Rinse the chickpeas and boil as per the package instruction.
  • When cooked, strain the chickpeas. Allow the chickpeas, beets and garlic to cool slightly.
  • Add all the ingredients except the water to the bowl of your food processor.
  • Pulse until smooth. Add water ¼ cup at a time as needed to achieve a smooth texture.
  • Store covered in the refrigerator.

Save

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Oh my goodness! Looks so good, I am definitely going to try this 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

