Individual Apple Crisp

Have you heard the idiom “motherhood and apple pie”?  Well for me “motherhood and apple crisp” would be more accurate. My mother didn’t often make apple pie, but she did often and still does make a killer apple crisp. True to my childhood, I often make apple crisp for my own family. There are 3 family sized crisps in my freezer right now waiting to be called up to duty.

Apple crisp, is one of my favourite desserts. I also like individual desserts. Don’t get me wrong its nice to sit around the table and dish out big scoops of apple crisp into bowls, but it’s not very elegant. Sometimes you want something that feels a little fancy, but not fussy. There are also those times when you just want to treat yourself, and not feel too bad about eating the whole dish. For those moments, I give you, individual apple crisp.

You can use which ever apple is your favourite. When I cooked this up earlier today for Quidee and I and our girls, I used some lovely big Galas. Granny Smiths would also be nice in this recipe, or even pears. I make my crumble in the same bowl I mix my apples so you don’t lose a single bit of flavour. This recipe is written to make one single serving, you can just multiply the quantities for the number of servings you want to prepare.

Individual Apple Crisp

This recipe makes one single portion but can be multiplied to create as many single servings as required.

Ingredients:

1 Large Apple
½ tsp. Cinnamon
Pinch Nutmeg
1 tsp. White Sugar
½ tsp. Lemon Juice
1 tbsp. Milk
¼ tsp. Corn Starch
2 tsp. Brown Sugar
2 tsp. Quick Cook Oats
2 tsp. All-Purpose Flour
1 tsp. Butter

Directions:

  • Preheat your oven to 3500F.
  • Peel and slice 1 apple per serving into thin wedges. Set aside.
  • In a mixing bowl, whisk togeather the cinnamon, nutmeg, white sugar, lemon juice, milk and cornstarch.
  • When no lumps remain, add the apple slices to the bowl and fold to coat the apples in the batter.
  • Grease a large ramekin with butter and then fill with the apple mixture. Try to really pack it in as the apples will soften and sink during baking.
  • In the now empty bowl used to mix the apples, add the brown sugar, oats, flour and butter. Combine using your fingers, or a fork.a-crisp2
  • Spread the mixture on top of the apples.IMG_2862.gif
  • Place the ramekin on a baking dish to catch any drips while baking.
  • Place the ramekin, uncovered on the middle rack of the oven and bake until golden brown and bubbling around the edges, about 40 minutes.
  • Remove from oven and let cool for 10 to 15 minutes before servinga-crisp3.
  • Top with ice cream and caramel sauce if desired.
Leave a Reply

